top of page
Search

Websites are difficult, writer's guilds are worth it

I came up with, what I call, this hair-brained idea about a month ago. I was in the first stages of publishing my first book, Stuff: Tales from Places, and was discussing writing contests and author support with my good friend, publisher, and legendary local historical fiction author, Joyce Faulkner. We were discussing how the Fort Smith Area has so many talented writers, but we always have to go far afield for events. So, I got to work. I started talking with others in the community, we put together a board (our first meeting is the first week of September), we created a page on Facebook and we saw there was legitimate interest. Then, the brainstorming began and we got a domain and started the long and arduous journey towards getting our 501 (c) (3). So here we are. The website is a fledgling thing, at the moment, but I promise to keep things moving and chronicle our progress here so you, our members, can help us build the beautiful and supportive entity we know this can be. You all can reach me through the contact page here, or any of our executive leadership, who all have amazing talents (we'll get an about page up very, very soon). Keep an eye on us, we're already on NaNoWriMo's radar and plan on starting a Fort Smith region up in partnership with them. We are also finding our way into the hearts of local sponsors and supporters who are just as excited as we are. Let's do this writing thing the right way, together!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

March FSWG meeting

We had a small but spirited group this past Tuesday night as we came together to fill in our calendar of events for the next month (find...

Comments


bottom of page